Iran Opens Doors: Indian Tourists Granted Visa-Free Access for 15 Days

  • Post comments:0 Comments
  • Reading time:4 mins read
  • Post author:

New Delhi, February 7, 2024

In a move aimed at fostering tourism ties, Iran has announced a significant policy change, granting visa-free access to Indian tourists for a duration of 15 days. The decision was unveiled by the Iran Embassy on Tuesday, February 6, 2024.

CountryVisa PolicyDurationEntry Points
IranVisa-free for tourism15 daysAir border only
Malaysia30-day visa-free entry30 daysAir, land, sea
ThailandVisa-free entry6 monthsAir, land, sea
Sri LankaVisa-free entryUnspecifiedAir, land, sea
VietnamVisa exemption for short visits15 daysAir, land, sea
chart table comparing the recent visa policies for Indian tourists across select countries:
  1. 15-Day Visa-Free Policy: Indian citizens can now enter Iran without a visa for a maximum stay of 15 days. This policy applies to individuals holding ordinary passports, allowing them to visit once every six months.
  2. Tourism Purpose Only: The visa exemption is specifically tailored for tourists entering Iran and does not extend to other purposes. Any desire for longer stays or multiple entries within a six-month period necessitates obtaining appropriate visas through Iranian representations in India.
  3. Air Border Entry: The visa-free access is restricted to Indian nationals entering Iran via air borders. Land border crossings or other entry points may require standard visa procedures.
  4. Regional Trend: Iran joins a growing list of countries facilitating easier travel for Indian tourists. Vietnam, Thailand, and Sri Lanka have recently relaxed visa rules, enhancing accessibility for Indian travelers.
  5. Malaysia’s Visa Exemption: Malaysia’s Prime Minister, Anwar Ibrahim, previously announced a 30-day visa-free entry for visitors from India and China, effective from December 1. However, this exemption remains contingent upon security screenings.
  6. Thailand’s Visa Waiver: Thailand implemented a six-month visa-free entry for Indian tourists from November 10, following a decision by the Thai Cabinet. The exemption extends to tourists from Taiwan as well.
  7. Sri Lanka’s Visitor Access: Sri Lanka expanded its visa-free entry to visitors from seven countries, including India and China, signaling a regional trend towards facilitating tourism.

With these progressive visa policies, countries in the region are aiming to boost tourism and strengthen cultural exchanges with India, tapping into its growing outbound travel market.

The visa-free access provided by Iran presents an exciting opportunity for Indian travelers to explore its rich history, culture, and natural beauty, fostering closer ties between the two nations.

As global travel resumes post-pandemic, such initiatives are poised to stimulate tourism recovery and promote cross-border cooperation in the Asia-Pacific region.

Leave a Reply